Staying Empowered During Divisive Times

A. N. Tipton
4 min readJun 17, 2021
Photo by Malcolm Lightbody on Unsplash

“You must be the change you wish to see in the world.” ~ Mohandas Gandhi

It almost feels to me as if things are slowly winding down after the world wide pandemic. I don’t know about any of you, but I find myself feeling a little worn out and raw. It’s been a year of revelations, endings, beginnings, shadow work, inspiration and most of all, change.

For me, it’s almost like a metamorphosis of the self and of society. Our world is no longer the same as it was and through this new birthing of circumstances, we’ve seen a huge division with humanity. I’ve seen friendships and marriages dissolve, families torn apart and huge crevices created by differentiating beliefs. And it made me wonder, how can we stay empowered through divisive times?

I’ll admit that I, too, got caught up in the whirlwind of fear and leaning towards one side of the political and social pendulum throughout COVID. I, like you, am human, and over the course of my life have adopted beliefs about what is right and wrong, good or bad, uplifting or not, and so on. We all have. That’s the nature of having a human experience.

For me, empowerment came in the form of loving detachment. Normally this term is widely used when dealing with recovery and addiction. Of releasing codependent cycles and learning to adopt self care. It’s consciously…

--

--

A. N. Tipton

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.